• font

Graduated licensing scheme

There are 4 stages to getting a full licence. This is called the graduated licensing scheme.

Stage 1: You get a learner's permit.

Stage 2: You get a P1 provisional licence.

Stage 3: You get a P2 provisional licence.

Stage 4: You get a full licence.

Click on the links above to find out what you have to do at each stage.

  • Although it takes time, patience and lots of practice, getting a full licence is straightforward if you drive safely and don't break any road rules.
  • Research has found that strengthening the driving experiences and supervision of new drivers through graduated licensing schemes can lead to significant reductions in crashes both before and after obtaining a driver's licence.