Skip to main content

Office of Local Government

CONNECT - Message from the Chief Executive

About the Office

The Office of Local Government provides policy and other advice to the Minister for Local Government on:

  • the constitution and operations of the local government system, particularly the legislative framework for councils' operation
  • the two statutory authorities for which the Minister is responsible
  • whole of government policy and legislative frameworks affecting local government
  • the constructive relationship between the state government, local councils and associated representative groups.

About local government in South Australia

Local government in South Australia is made up of 68 councils.

The following Acts create the legal framework within which local government operates:

  • Constitution Act 1934
  • Local Government Act 1999
  • Local Government (Elections) Act 1999

These Acts can be accessed via the South Australian Legislation website.

Councils are primarily accountable to their communities in carrying out their roles and functions and achieving their objectives. The Local Government Act 1999 gives councils broad powers to make decisions and deliver services without intervention from the state government or the Minister. Councils therefore have considerable discretion in exercising their powers and responsibilities and in planning for the needs of their communities.

Local Government Reform

The Statutes Amendment (Local Government Review) Bill 2020 (the Bill) was introduced into Parliament on 17 June 2020.

More information is available on the local government reform page.

COVID-19 - New Public Health Emergency Powers

Important information about new powers under the Local Government Act 1999 to address concerns arising out of the current COVID-19 public health emergency.

More information is available on the Public Health Emergency Powers page.

Council Boundary Change Proposal Guidelines

On 22 August 2017, the Local Government (Boundary Adjustment) Amendment Act 2017 was assented to by the Governor.  The Amendment Act commenced on 1 January 2019, and significantly reforms the processes within the Local Government Act 1999 (the Act) that govern changes to council boundaries. Further information is contained within the attached Explanatory Paper (PDF 328 KB).

The procedures for council boundary changes are set out in the Local Government Act 1999 (Chapter 3, Part 2), which can be accessed via the South Australian Legislation website. The Boundaries Commission, the independent body that assesses and investigates boundary change proposals, and makes recommendations to the Minister responsible for the Act, has prepared Guidelines that detail the process by which it will receive, assess and progress council boundary change proposals.


Office address: Level 3, 77 Grenfell Street, Adelaide SA 5000
Postal address: GPO Box 1533, Adelaide SA 5001
Phone: (08) 7109 7145